RI & MA get No Child Left Behind extensions

BOSTON (AP) — Massachusetts and Rhode Island are among six states that have been granted a one-year extension from certain provisions of the No Child Left behind Act.

The U.S. Department of Education says the states were granted the extension because they have already implemented education reforms that go beyond the law’s requirements.

The federal government grants waivers from parts of the law to qualified states in exchange for state-developed plans designed to improve educational outcomes for students, close achievement gaps, increase equity and improve the quality of instruction.

The one-year extension allows the states to continue moving forward on the work they began with their initial flexibility requests.

Among other reasons, Massachusetts and Rhode island were credited for their college and career-ready standards.

The other states are Arizona, Missouri, Oregon and Utah.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s