Raimondo announces choices for the I-195 Commission

PROVIDENCE, R.I. (AP) — Gov. Gina Raimondo has picked six people to join the commission overseeing the development of land opened up by the relocation of Interstate 195 in downtown Providence.

Raimondo announced Wednesday she’ll ask the Senate to confirm six nominees for the I-195 Redevelopment Commission.

Real estate developer Colin Kane recently resigned as commission chairman.

Raimondo picked Joseph F. Azrack to be the new chairman. He’s the principal owner of Azrack & Company, an investment and advisory firm focused on the real estate industry.

Her other nominees are: Robert C. Davis, Elizabeth Huidekoper, Melissa Husband, Edwin J. Santos and Sandra Smith.

She says the nominations are a first step in advancing efforts to revitalize the land. Twenty acres on the edge of downtown Providence were freed up for redevelopment by the relocation.

Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s