Matthews, Martin earn NABC All-District Honors

Provided by the University of Rhode Island

KINGSTON, R.I. — E.C. Matthews and Hassan Martin were each selected to the 2014-15 National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District 4 team, it was announced today.

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, student-athletes from 22 districts nationally represent the finest basketball players across America. District 4 covers players and coaches from the Atlantic 10. Only Rhode Island and Dayton had two honorees represented among the two teams.

Matthews was named to the All-District 4 First Team, along with Treveon Graham (VCU), DeAndre’ Bembry (Saint Joseph’s), Jordan Sibert (Dayton), and Kendall Anthony (Richmond).

An All-Atlantic 10 Second Team and USBWA All-District 1 selection earlier this year, Matthews finished the 2014-15 season ranking third in the A-10 in scoring, at 16.9 points per game. The 6-5 guard from Detroit led the Rams in scoring in 20 of 33 games and tallied double-digits in the scoring column on 28 occasions.

One of 16 players nationally to be placed on the Jerry West Award watch list, the sophomore scored 20 or more points 10 times this season. He was a two-time A-10 Player of the Week (Nov. 24, Jan. 12) and was named to the league’s weekly honor roll on six occasions. Matthews also ranked ninth in the A-10 in 3-pointers made (57 3FG, 2.0 per game).

Martin was also an All-A-10 Second Team and USBWA All-District 1 honoree as a sophomore. The Staten Island, N.Y. native led the Atlantic 10 in two major statistical categories in the regular season – field goal percentage (64.0%, 135-211)) and blocked shots (88 total blocks, 3.0 bpg). Through Rhode Island’s 33 games, the 6-7 sophomore averaged 11.4 points, 7.7 rebounds, and 3.1 blocked shots. He was named to the A-10’s weekly honor roll seven times.

The 6-7 forward was one of the best defensive players in the country, ranking fourth in Division I in total blocked shots (103) and sixth in blocks per game (3.1). Martin blocked a URI single-game record 10 shots versus La Salle on Jan. 22. He is joined on the NABC All-District 4 Second Team by Jordan Price (La Salle), Tyler Malinowski (Davidson), Dashawn Pierre (Dayton), and Patricio Garino (George Washington).

Located in Kansas City, MO, the NABC was founded in 1927 by Phog Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas. Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game. The NABC currently has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men’s basketball coaches. All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today’s student-athletes. The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education. Additional information about the NABC, its programs and membership, can be found at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s