Hess, Wilson named to All-American team

Provided by the University of Rhode Island

KINGSTON, R.I. – Rhode Island’s Chris Hess and Tyler Wilson have been named to the 2015 Louisville Slugger Freshman All-American team, announced Wednesday afternoon by Collegiate Baseball Newspaper. It marks the first time in the history of the Rhode Island baseball program that multiple freshmen earned All-America honors in the same season.

Hess led Rhode Island in hits (59), multiple-hit games (17), triples (6), runs scored (34) and slugging percentage (.481). He also ranked second on the team in on-base percentage (.398) and extra-base hits (16) and was third in stolen bases (10).

The North Kingstown, R.I. native – who ended the season on a 12-game hit streak and reached base at least once in each of URI’s last 17 games overall – also was an Atlantic 10 First Team All-Conference pick as well as an All-Rookie selection.

Wilson adds the Freshman All-America accolades to an already-impressive resume which includes the Atlantic 10’s Pitcher and Rookie of the Year awards, First Team All-Conference and All-Rookie honors and NEIBA Rookie of the Year distinction.

The Palmer, Mass. native finished his outstanding freshman campaign leading all A-10 starting pitchers in ERA (2.16), runs allowed (24), opposing average (.184), hits allowed per nine innings (5.87) and WHIP (0.96). He posted a 6-3 record, including a complete-game, one-hit shutout at Richmond.

Overall, he recorded nine quality starts, spanned 28 innings without allowing an earned run, reached double-digits in strikeouts twice and allowed a combined three hits in 7.1 innings of work at #2 Florida and #11 North Carolina.

Rhode Island ended its 2015 campaign with an overall record of 26-25-1. With a 15-9 mark in conference play, the Rams – who were picked to finish 11th of 13 in the preseason coaches poll – finished second in the Atlantic 10 regular season standings and advanced to the A-10 title game, where they eventually fell to VCU.

Rhody Baseball All-Americans

2001 – Mike LaBarbera, Third Team
2001 – Dan Batz, Freshman Team
2002 – Mike Harris, Freshman Team
2006 – Steve Holmes, Third Team
2009 – Dan Rhault, Honorable Mention
2012 – Jeff Roy, Honorable Mention
2015 – Chris Hess, Freshman Team
2015 – Tyler Wilson, Freshman Team

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s